My 5 Travel Resolutions For 2015

1. To turn off GPS and use the map

This might be one of the hardest things to do. Looking for landmarks in a map can get very tough sometimes. Recently, I was given a city map and I found it very hard to search for important train stations and places to see. So this year, I improve my mapping skills by using a map more often.

the lost traveller

2. To use public transport frequently

Many a times, we avoid public transport because of rush or simply because we are lazy to buy a ticket. This year, my aim is to start using public transport. It is convenient and saves energy. Public transport is around the whole city, so travellers can get to see the city at different times of the day. Also, a great opportunity to capture good things that are seen on the way.

public-transport

3. To write down the day’s expenses

I believe that this is a very good habit to develop. This not only gives an overall idea of how much is being spent but also how much is being saved in a day. A fun thing to do is to estimate an amount at the beginning of your journey and after the journey, see how much was actually spent.

getty_rf_photo_of_woman_making_list

4. To visit a place I have not heard of

I am expecting this to be fun. Going to a place which I am not familiar with would be a great experience. But I hope it doesn’t turn out to be a disaster because sometimes even places I have done research on don’t turn out to be the way they were expected. But if successful, I would be proud of myself.

Screen Shot 2015-01-24 at 17.25.55

5. A collection of souvenirs 

I have been doing this lately. I collect fridge magnets and currently I have ten. I would love to collect more and make a collection after 2015 ends. By doing this, I get reminded of a memory of the place. One more thing to keep in mind would be to jot down the names of places visited. Because if one fine day someone asks me, “Where did you go during the summer?”, I would never want to give them a blank look or give them excuses.

1414371364

 

Images obtained from:

http://lost-traveller.com

http://www.tortoiseknowsbest.com/slow-odes-part-1-–-an-ode-to-public-transport/

http://marslondonblog.co.uk/2012/06/14/rise-of-the-fridge-magnets/

http://www.ytravelblog.com/travellers-are-running-away/

Leave a comment